Labour Day

Life is so hectic at times its hard to just relax and not feel stressed about the things that I should be doing. I know that for my personal well being I need to allow myself down time but still there are always so many things calling me. My day job takes a huge chunk of my life and then I have quilts at home waiting to be finished up so they can return to their owners. Then of course there are the quilts that I want to make or that are in the process of being made. This house is always needing attention. Most importantly I want time with my loved ones! It seems like yesterday there were 4 little girls living with me, this house at times felt very overcrowded, it wasn’t really just abit overflowing at times, esp when they all had friends over. I remember how I used to wish for even just a snippet of peace and quiet, these days that’s more the norm than not when I’m at home except for the voice in my mind that reminds me of all the things that need to be done.
and then there is our short summer that I try not to miss any of, one thing that makes me feel like a little kid are the fridays when I know that after work Erik and I are getting into the motor home and heading out for the weekend. It usually hits me after lunch…..the excitement!
Labour Day we decided to head to one of our favorite spots that we always visit each summer, last weekends weather was incredible! I was so excited to camp at our favorite spot…..but then when we got out there…..other people had the same idea!!! Turns out there are other campsites that we hadn’t discovered yet and now we have some new ones to visit. Life does have a way of working out.

IMG_2400
our morning view
IMG_2422
I’m ready to head out for the day!!
IMG_2386
The walleye weren’t biting but we (Erik) did manage to catch a couple. We did catch a lot of perch and they were very yummy!
We discovered this next camp site from the lake so went to shore to explore and decided that we will probably camp here another time. (Erik just had to climb up this rock for a picture)

IMG_2417

IMG_2419

This lake and most others we visit are on whats called Crown Land, meaning it belongs to the Government anyone can camp on it. I love the feeling of being in the wilderness and having space. No close by neighbors unless its by our choosing.

This brings me back to what I was trying to say at the begining of this post..I think that one of the reasons that I get so excited about heading out camping and spending the weekend fishing, is that its one of the few times in life when that voice in my head telling me I need to get busy is actually quiet and I let myself guiltlessly relax.
So guess where I’m heading shortly!!!!
We have Monday and Tuesday off and the weather is looking great too! As much as I love summer, fall has so much to offer too!
Have a great weekend!
and hopefully I’ll have more quilting to show soon.

About wendysquilting

Professional Longarm Machine Quilter in Thunder Bay Ontario.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Labour Day

  1. lindasteller says:

    Nothing like the great outdoors to restore the spirit Wendy. I’m so glad you got to enjoy the beauty there.

    Like

  2. Jodi says:

    Beautiful place!

    Like

Leave a Reply

