A Very Special Quilt

I have been friends with Betty for many years, she is a wonderful and giving person with a heart full of love and compassion for others. She blesses many people with the gift of her quilting skills. This quilt that she recently made and had me quilt for her was extra special.

(taken from Betty’s post with permission: “For my friend and neighbour Jackie. Her 2 grandaughters Serenity,Kiralyn and their mom were tragically taken from her Feb 13/14. I hope that this quilt helps you heal.”

Image

In discussing how Betty envisioned this quilt, quilted she said that she wanted me to do my thing but to incorporate butterflies as the girls really loved them. I once again used Judi Madsens inspiring book with her butterflies, dragonflies and flowers and freehand quilted for the most part. There is also some ruler work.

Image

Image

Image

 

 

 

 

Thank you Betty for allowing me to add my touches to your special gift.

2 thoughts on “A Very Special Quilt

  1. Pingback: A Very Special Quilt | Quilting and Life

  2. I just happened on your blog while searching for something else and all I can say is Wow! Beautiful quilting and very special because of the story behind the quilt. I love the outline quilting on the photo with the horses and fence.

Leave a Reply

